Trust

I’ve learned in life that the only person I can trust is myself. The people out there in the real world are greedy and selfish. Trust is made so it can be broken. Chances are that most of the trust you build with people someday will be broken. It’s your choice if you want to forgive them or leave them.
Last night I caught my boyfriend cheating on me. We’ve been together for a long time and I felt heartbroken. I felt like it was my fault that he cheated on. I thought it was my fault that he wasn’t happy. But then I realized something I’ve never thought before. It wasn’t my fault. I gave him everything I could. I trust him with my life and I told him all my fears and secrets. I ran to him whenever I was sad.
The trust I gave him I’ve never given anyone before. I don’t trust people very easily because I get cheated on a lot. I have to say this one hurt a lot. The worst part is I talked to him a long time ago asking if he ever cheated on me would he tell me and he said yes. I gave him all the trust in the world just so he could break it.
I was confused on if I should leave him or forgive him. He didn’t seem sorry he did it. So I read him something I wrote one night when I couldn’t go to sleep. It was about our love. The first part was about how I wanted love and the second part was how I found love. I knew I should forgive him when he started crying. Because right then I knew that he cared and loved me. I could tell that he made a mistake. I’ve never seen him cry before. He’s an emotionless person. I hope I made the right decision.

Leave a comment